Dhtml Menu Css by v5.7

External Scientific Advisory Board of MNIMBS

The Role of the MNIMBS External Scientific Advisory Board

This Board is non-governing, but provides insights and support on how to improve the MNIMBS.  This Board meets once per 1-1.5 years and its responsibilities include:

  • Annual review of programs and overall progress towards goals;
  • Advise the MNIMBS Director of program strengths and perceived weaknesses;
  • Assist in identifying new directions of research and translational opportunities;
  • Evaluate the success of project development programs;
  • Assess the overall effectiveness of the MNIMBS administration and organization. 

The External Advisory Board is an important enhancement to MNIMBS by bringing an outside perspective to the MNIMBS evaluation process that capitalizes on the extensive research and entrepreneurial backgrounds of the External Advisory Board members. 

MNIMBS External Scientific Advisory Board Members

Barbara Baird, Ph.D., Horace White Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology

Roger Brent, Ph.D., Division of Basic Science at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle

Vicki Colvin, Ph.D.,  Professor of Chemistry, Director of CBEN, Physical Chemistry and Nanotechnology, Department of Chemistry, Rice University, Houston, TX

Mostafa A. El-Sayed, Ph.D., Julius Brown Chair and Regents Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Director, Laser Dynamics Laboratory, Georgia Institute of Technology

Donald Ingber, M.D., Ph.D., Judah Folkman Professorship of Vascular Biology in the Department of Pathology at Harvard Medical School, Pathology, Surgery and Vascular Biology Programs at Children’s Hospital Boston, MA

Gregory Lanza, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Medicine and Bioengineering, Division of Cardiology, Washington University Medical School, St. Louis, MO

Michael Roukes, Ph.D., Director, Kavli Nanosciences Institute, Robert M. Abbey Professor of Physics, Applied Physics, and Bioengineering, Caltech, Pasadena, CA

Michael J. Sailor, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, CA

Judith Stein, Ph.D., Polymer and Specialty Chemicals Technologies, GE Global Research, Niskayuna, NY

Samuel I. Stupp, Ph.D., Board of Trustees Professor of Materials Science, Chemistry and Medicine; Director, Institute for BioNanotechnology in Medicine, Northwestern University

Youseph Yazdi, Ph.D., MBA, Director, Center for Bioengineering Innovation and Design, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD



© The Michigan Nanotechnology Institute for Medicine and Biological Sciences (MNIMBS)® 2010
MNIMBS is a registered trademark of The Michigan Nanotechnology Institute for Medicine and Biological Sciences.
MNIMBS logo and graphic designed by Paul D. Trombley, website by Mellon & Associates, LLC
All other company, brand, and product names are or may be trademarks of their respective holders.